The latest in music videos, music reviews and contest information. Plus, random stuff we find that we think you'll like. Check us out at

Monday, June 28, 2010

Children 18:3 "Rain's A' Comin'"

When Children 18:3's self-titled debut came out in 2008, I remember loving their sound. It was different and fun. Their songs were catchy and I felt like the album was a fast moving train. Song after song was intense and high speed and by the time I got to the end of the album I remember thinking, "it's over already?"

Well, good news. Children 18:3 has released their sophomore effort on Tooth & Nail and it is absolutely delightful. These siblings have got a good thing going on. Rain's A' Comin' showcases David and Lee Marie's harmonies and I love how Lee Marie's voice is a prominent feature on the new album.

The title track is the first song on the album and it is a great way to begin. The song builds from the beginning until we hear David sing passionately, "crawl down, won't you come on down, run down with me..." Yes, I think you should join them because the ride is just starting. The album kicks into high gear with the next song, "Cover Your Eyes."

"Cover Your Eyes" reminds me of what I know and love of Children 18:3. They charge through the verses, and let up just enough for you to join in on the chorus. This is also the first song they made a video for. You can enjoy that gem here.

Highlights on the album for me are "Oh Honestly!" a much slower and pop-inspired song. But they make it work and don't lose the essence of who they are just to make a pop song.

Lee Marie's voice in "Wonder I" is fantastic. Almost like a lullaby, "wonder, wonder I, if I stood on your shoulders, could I touch the sky?"

The album ends perfectly. The first track was dramatic and last track makes me laugh. It's very much a carnivalesque song, and after seeing a few interviews with these siblings I think sometimes that might be what their life is like.

Overall, this album excites me. I'm hoping with two solid releases under their belt, Children 18:3's fan base will grow and they'll finally be recognized as one of the standards for great music.


Find out more about Children 18:3 here:


Thursday, June 17, 2010

Anberlin set to release new album, Dark is the Way Light is a Place




(New York, NY – June 16, 2010) Universal Republic rockers Anberlin will release their much-buzzed about fifth studio album, Dark Is The Way, Light is a Place,on September 21st. The band recorded it at Nashville’s renowned Blackbird Studio with Brendan O’Brien (Pearl Jam, Bruce Springsteen, Rage Against the Machine), who won the GRAMMY award for Producer of the Year, Non-Classical earlier this year. “Impossible” – the driving lead single that soars with an exhilarating pop Foo Fighters vibe as it captures love’s tug of war – will go to radio in mid-July. “We Owe This To Ourselves,” another track from Dark Is The Way, Light is a Place, will be the main song used on ESPN’s X-Games this summer.

The forthcoming record follows Anberlin’s New Surrender, which was the band’s second album to debut in the Top 20 of The Billboard 200. “Feel Good Drag,” New Surrender’s first single, hit No. 1 on the Modern Rock charts and now holds the record as the longest-charting single in Modern Rock history. Named 2009’s “Rock Song of the Year” by FMQB, it will be a featured song on the in-store version of “Guitar Hero 6,” due out this September. Anberlin’s cover of New Order’s “True Faith” appeared on the subsequently released deluxe version of New Surrender and was tapped for the season finale of The CW’s “The Vampire Diaries.” Anberlin, which formed in Winter Haven, FL in 2002, has sold over 700,000 albums and toured the world, sharing stages with American Rejects, My Chemical Romance, Taking Back Sunday, Paramore and many others.

Dark Is The Way, Light is a Place – which takes its title from a line in Dylan Thomas’ “Poem On His Birthday” – examines the battle implicit in life and in love. “Love is a friction, a chemistry,” says Anberlin’s front man, Stephen Christian. “We need to fight it out in a good way, not with threats of leaving, but to, in love, find an understanding.”

If such an understanding isn’t reached, the consequences can be shattering, as detailed in the hypnotic “The Art of War,” which veers from slow burn to full sonic assault and the heart wrenching “Take Me As You Found Me.”The cathartic “To The Wolves”tackles betrayal head-on while in the gentle, acoustic “Down,” the protagonist puts the blame squarely on himself (“feel like a shell of yesteryear gone by/bad decisions like ghosts that just won’t die”). The way may be dark, but a powerful vision of light permeates the album. The anthemic “We Owe This To Ourselves” is a resounding call to action: “we owe this to ourselves/to fight, to lead/we owe this to ourselves/we just can’t let this go.” This deeply rooted conviction speaks not only to Anberlin’s view of romantic love, but also to the band’s belief that we’re accountable for our relationship with the world at large.

To that end, Anberlin has been involved in numerous humanitarian efforts. They’ve spent time in Africa, working with a local charity to meet the needs of a small community, and traveled to Calcutta, India with Faceless International, where they helped to raise awareness about the dangers of human trafficking. Co-founded by Stephen Christian (lead singer), Faceless International ( to defend the plight of exploited people worldwide who have gone faceless and unknown for far too long. The organization raises awareness about social issues happening throughout the global community, providing first hand experience and education through trips around the world and solution-based opportunities through regional resources.

Anberlin is:

Stephen Christian: Vocals
Joseph Milligan: Lead guitar
Devon Rexroat: Bass
Christian McAlhaney: Rhythm guitar
Nathan Young: Drums

The track listing for Dark Is The Way, Light is a Place is as follows:

1. We Owe This To Ourselves
2. Impossible
3. Take Me As You Found Me
4. Closer
5. You Belong To Me
6. Pray Tell
7. The Art Of War
8. To The Wolves
9. Down
10. Depraved

Monday, June 14, 2010

CD Review: Rapture Ruckus "Rapture Ruckus"

Hailing from New Zealand, Rapture Ruckus is one of the newest editions to the BEC lineup. Rapture Ruckus is fronted by Brad Dring, aka MC Rapture. His first release stateside, Rapture Ruckus EP, has six songs and is filled with encouragement and spiritually direct lyrics. There isn't any sifting through to decipher what Dring is trying to convey. His lyrics are simply the Gospel. His method is a mix between Manafest and And Then There Were None. A bit of rock and rap flavored with some techno. High energy from beginning to end, Rapture Ruckus is definitely someone to get acquainted with.

Standout tracks on the album include the first radio single, "Hold On" and "I Believe"


Find out more about Rapture Ruckus here:


Switchfoot "The Sound"

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Friday, June 4, 2010

Videos about Children 18:3's new album!

Tracklisting posted for Children 18:3's new album

Children 18:3 releases "Rain's 'A Comin'" on June 29th. Here's the track listing for the new album. Listen to "Lost So Long" on PDR and other new tracks over at their myspace page.

1. Rain's 'a Comin'
2. Cover Your Eyes
3. The Cruel One
4. Whispering
5. Hey Driftwood (Tides)
6. Oh Bravo
7. Oh Honestly!
8. Wonder I
9. Stronger
10. Jack 'o' Lantern Dreams
11. Lost So Long
12. The Last Laugh